Ceremony: The Unity Cross

3 Jun

So, have I mentioned how awesome wedding forums are yet? Because they are really awesome! I can’t even tell you how much I’ve already learned from just wandering around different wedding websites’ message boards. The grand daddy of all wedding websites I’ve found is definitely The Knot. I’ve spent hours on that site already and it’s only been a month since we got engaged! Anyway, while looking around on The Knot’s message boards today I stumbled upon something that I’m SO excited about. I’d been trying to think of alternatives to the unity candle and sand ceremonies that have become so common in weddings recently. I love the symbolism of both but just didn’t get the feeling that those were right for our wedding. Well, someone on the boards had that same thought and created a thread about it. Here’s what I found…

picture via shop.getmarried.com

This is how the website explains the meaning:

“The Unity Cross is a multi-piece sculpture that is assembled during the Unity Service of your Wedding Ceremony representing how the -Two become One. The Groom places the outer Cross in the beautiful wood base as the Pastor explains how God created man- Bold, Strong, the Defender of the Family yet how he is empty and incomplete without the woman. The Bride then places the more delicate cross inside of the Grooms cross as the Pastor explains how God created Woman- Delicate, multi-faceted, taking care of all of the little things that completes the man, and the -Two become One. The Bride and Groom then use the 3 golden pegs to lock the union(cross) together in the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit as the pastor exclaims that: What God has brought together let no man take apart. Then the Unity Cross is taken home and displayed as a Daily Reminder of your Wedding Day and the Covenant that you both have made.”

It’s SO perfect! Both Ryan and I’s families are religious and would appreciate the religious meaning of this ceremony. I also love that you can keep the cross and display it in your home after the wedding is over. I just think it’s beautiful and creative and unique…did I mention that I love it?! I’m excited that I have finally found the first thing that I am DEFINITELY going to do for my wedding. I would be totally willing to buy it right now and just hold on to it until the wedding. Hmmm…maybe I will. Let’s hope I accidentally find something I love like this everyday!

-Lindsay

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

